Book: The Hunger Games [Book #1] by Suzanne Collins

This book was so good I read it twice.

I don’t tend to say that very often. A teenager named Katniss is forced to take care of her family once her father dies. Her mother fell into a deep depression and Katniss the oldest daughter took up her father’s talent of hunting to feed the family.

This book takes place far in the future. Technically, geographically it’s the United States. However, this future is after a nuclear war. The USA has imploded and no longer exists. It’s now called Panem. They divided the country into 13 districts. Each one is responsible for something specific. Katniss is part of District 12 which is responsible for coal.

74 years earlier in Panem’s history District 13 led an uprising. The Capitol eventually squashed this. And as a yearly reminder and punishment that they are the ultimate ruler they created “The Hunger Games.”

Every year each district has a reaping. One boy and one girl between 13 and 18 in age are chosen from each district to participate. It is a fight to the death. The contestants, or victims really, are all given a smattering of training in different aspects of survival. They are paraded around for the whole country to see. And then they are dumped into the arena. Only one person can win. You win by being the last tribute, the name given to the children forced to compete, still alive.

This years reaping was most difficult. Katniss’s little sister Prim was picked. Overcome with emotion Katniss volunteers to take her place.

Does Katniss survive The Hunger Games? Does she die in the arena? What horrors await?

Click either link to get a copy of the book.

Amazon The Hunger Games (Book 1)

iTunes The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins

Categories: Blog Archive, Books, Other books

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *