Book: The Surgeon [Rizzoli and Isles #1] by Tess Gerritsen

This book, The Surgeon, is a thriller from start to finish. Horrible acts are taking place against women in Boston. These same acts were done in Savannah by Andrew Capra two years before. Boston Police don’t understand how his crimes are taking place in their city. This is because back in Savannah his last victim survived and killed him.

Yet here he is again. He’s choosing victim’s who have been raped. He’s stalking and murdering but something is different. It’s not the same M.O. as before, it’s altered. The Surgeon is not raping and then killing, instead he’s picking victims who have already been raped. What does this mean? Who is this man? How has he not been detected?

His focus is on Dr. Catherine Cordell. She is the one who survived. She killed Andrew Capra two years ago. She brought his rein of terror to an end. Yet she and the detectives know that a ghost cannot be committing these heinous crimes.

Enter Detective Jane Rizzoli. She is assigned a murder case, one of The Surgeon’s handiwork. But until a second victim is discovered they don’t realize that they are dealing with a serial killer.

Jane, who always feels the need to prove herself, works tirelessly on this case. Even when she is taken off the case she still continues to dig. Asking the questions that the male officers did not. Hunting the hunter the only way she can.

Does The Surgeon finish what Andrew Capra started? Does Dr. Catherine Cordell survive? Does Jane Rizzoli stop the madman or does he stop her?

I give The Surgeon by Tess Gerritsen five out of five stars. I was on the edge of my seat from start to finish. The author even gives the reader glimpses into the mind of a psychopath. As an added bonus there is realism in many of the scenes as Tess Gerristsen is a licensed doctor. Such a gripping read. I can’t wait to read the next book of this series, which the TNT TV show “Rizzoli & Isles” is based on.

Amazon Click here to get your copy of The Surgeon (with Bonus Content): A Rizzoli & Isles Novel

iTunes The Surgeon – Tess Gerritsen


Book: A is for Alibi [Kinsey Millhone #1] by Sue Grafton

This book is the first in the alphabet murder series by Sue Grafton.

Yes the book does start slow, but I think it’s worth it. This book is the introduction to a longstanding series. We had to meet Kinsey and find out who she is. She’s tough, smart and tenacious. She was raised by her cold Aunt after her parents died in a horrible car crash. She was in the car too. Kinsey watched her parents die right in front of her eyes and it changed her life forever.

Present day she’s a private investigator. She was a cop but couldn’t handle all the rules. Self-employed she can do as she pleases and that she does. Her cases are well outside of what you would expect. But working unwanted or strange cases seems fitting to her.

Enter client Nikki Fife. She went to prison for killing her husband but has always maintained her innocence. She hires Kinsey to find the real killer.

Of course during the investigation all hell breaks loose because Kinsey is a magnet for oddballs like no one else. She gets a new boyfriend, gets hit on by some other guys, gets shot at a few times, and two actual attempts on her life are just a sampling of the excitement and drama in this book. The finale is very much worth the slow build. I personally don’t think the end would be as compelling as it was if it were to be reached in a different manner.

This is definitely a good read and I do recommend it.

Amazon A is for Alibi (Kinsey Millhone Alphabet Mysteries, No. 1)

iTunes A Is for Alibi – Sue Grafton

%d bloggers like this: